Clever Advertising – KP Duty Ad

It’s one of those strange occasions where I find a magazine delivered to my home, under my name, yet I do not recall subscribing to.  On top of that, it’s a fitness magazine – a woman’s magazine.  So, how does that work if I’m a man?  […shrugs…]  Oh well, I never miss the opportunity to see what women are reading today.

As I’m thumbing through the articles about the latest exercise fashion, new diet/meal plans, and workout equipment, I landed on an advertisement for keratosis pilaris – a common skin condition characterized by the appearance of small, rough bumps on the skin, usually on outer sides of upper arms and back.  Roughly half of the population is both adults and children are affected by keratosis pilaris.  To me, it’s nothing new, but I upon a closer look, I definitely have to admit that the ad is surprisingly clever.

Here, the product being advertised is DERMAdoctor’s KP Duty.

Fair enough, I thought.  With “DermaDoctor,” it’s a term for “skin doctor.”  I get it.

KP Duty is an abbreviation for Keratosis Pilaris.  I understood that too.  Then there’s the word “duty” attached.  I thought maybe they’re talking about “heavy duty,” but then I saw the picture which portrayed actual “KP duty”.

For those who aren’t familiar with the term “kp duty,” it simply is military slang for “kitchen patrol”.  This means that whoever gets kp duty or is on kp duty will have the wonderful pleasure of scrubbing pans, slinging slop, and serving in the mess halls.  I remember hearing this term when I was in the Boy Scouts at the age of 11-12 years old.  KP duty is hard work and I don’t mind it, but it can be pain if you’re doing dishes at night and hot water isn’t available.

The ad did a collage of images where you see an attractive woman, who is in a military uniform, with a big grin and an “attend-hut!” salute to all the awesome soldiers who serve our country.  She has on a lab coat as well – perhaps to demonstrate that she’s a doctor who serves for the military and she’s recommending KP Duty will help those who suffer from keratosis pilaris, but at the same time providing a visual illustration of KP duty with a kitchen backdrop and potatoes all over the place.

So what did I do?  I went online and ordered myself a bottle of this stuff.  I don’t have KP, but I’m curious as to what it can do.  When you use the product, it has those microbeads that is normally found in skin exfoliating creams, so assuming you have to scrub it on your body, it feels as if your doing kitchen patrol on yourself.  How great is that?!

Obviously, quite a bit of thought went into the name of the product and the design of the entire ad.  Everything seems to connect, so it makes some sense more or less.  It’s not like other products where you see a woman on a bicycle or a couple walking along the beach, and they’re advertising anti-acid calcium tablets or bandaids.  Anyway – just thought I shared.

About newmeridian

Dude! When I'm right, nobody remembers, but when I'm wrong, nobody forgets...
This entry was posted in Advertising, Health, Psychology. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment